Founded in 2009 by Patrick Burke (guitar, brass), Andrew Kuhar (vocals, keys, guitar), and Nicholas Kuhar (drums, percussion), The Commonwealth has since written, recorded, and produced four albums; their most recent work is The Victory Garden LP, which they primarily recorded with Paul Hamann of SUMA Recording Studio. Hamann served as lead engineer for The Black Keys' breakthrough Attack & Release, and helped The Commonwealth capture the bulk of The Victory Garden live off the floor at SUMA.

With arrangements that include everything from electric & classical guitar to brass, cellos, mellotron, and Afro-Cuban percussion, The Victory Garden amplifies The Commonwealth's place in the Midwest as a loud, chamber-pop band. It's a cinematic, haunting, and aggressive sound that pulls from The National and Radiohead as much as Led Zeppelin and Cream.

In addition to producing almost 40 original, studio-recorded songs in the past five years, The Commonwealth have opened for internationally-known artists such as KONGOS, GZA of The Wu-Tang Clan, Elle King, Talib Kweli, Blitzen Trapper, The Jezabels, Welshly Arms, and more. The band has also–with the help of live instrumentalists Brian Rudary (bass guitar) and Jacob Chandler (trumpet, percussion, keys)–performed as a five-piece at every major venue in Cleveland, including The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, The House of Blues, and the Beachland Ballroom. Prior to the release of their Urban Soul LP (2013), they were featured guests on Dee Perry's NPR program "The Sound of Applause".

While finishing 2017's The Victory Garden, The Commonwealth doubled as composers for various film projects. In early 2016, they contributed two original songs ("California Widow", "The Bright Ones") to the short documentary "Razzle Dazzle," which is currently in consideration for four international film festivals, including Cleveland's own CIFF 41. Moreover, their promotion for The Victory Garden entailed the creation of live, multi-cam recordings of the entire album in Baldwin Wallace University's Conservatory of Music.


The people & resources who aided in the production of this website

Design and Development

Andrew Kuhar


Hilary Bovay

  • Hans Renzler
  • Juan Pablo del Peral